Time Heals ALL Wounds

Wow! It’s been a whole month since I posted anything. Shaking my head. I really must do better. This will be a quick read.

Warning: This will make you think. It made me think.

I was watching television and the man on tv said, “Time doesn’t heal all wounds.” Yes, you read it correctly. This man said, “Time Does NOT heal all of your wounds.” If you’re shocked by his statement, you’re not alone, so was I.  Honestly, I had a little bit of an attitude. How dare you dismantle the validity of something I’ve believed in all my life? Bah-humbug to you, sir.

I tuned him out and began to think. Hmmm… Time Doesn’t Heal All Wounds. See, all of my life and maybe yours too, I’ve been told, “Time heals all wounds.” However, as I began to ponder, I realized what I thought was true for years was merely a fallacy.

Think about it. Time does nothing. It goes on and on and on and on and… well you get the picture. If you’ve been wounded and never talked about or dealt with your wounds it doesn’t get better over time. You will just become bitter. Think about it. You’re on a hike and you get bit by a poisonous snake or you fall and cut yourself, would you shout out, “I’m fine. I’m going to let time heal this wound?” No. You want and need medical attention, immediately. My mom has had a swollen knee for months now.  She believes in time it will go away. *insert side eye* As of this moment her knee is still greatly swollen. Sometimes it is hard for her to walk or put any pressure on the knee. Time is moving on and her knee is still looking like a melon.

Time isn’t a cure-all. You have to deal with the issue. “Time heals all wounds” is a cowardice mentality to not DEAL with the issue. Loss of a loved one? Time heals all wounds. No! Go to grief counseling. Infidelity in a romantic relationship? You break up or stay. Time heals all wounds. No. If you don’t deal with the hurt you’ll be a bitter person and/or constantly attract people who won’t commit to you. Shoot, it might turn your heart cold and you’ll be that calloused person who doesn’t care about anyone’s heart because no one cared about your heart. Adultery in a marriage? Leave or stay. Time heals all wounds. Lie. Y’all Better take your TIME and go through counseling. Rejected by parents? Time heals all wounds. Lie. You have to deal with it. Bullied in school? Time heals all wounds. Lie. Deal with it. “Time heals all wounds” is a lie. You have to deal with the root of the problem. Talk it out, confront (not with your fists or any weapons) those who wounded you. Time causes for things to fester. Time opens the door for bitterness, fear of rejection, and anger/rage. Don’t just move forward without dealing with what hurt you.

Time heals? Hmmm…

Time to talk. Time to open up. Time to get help.

~MaddieCole

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-30 at 2.00.36 PM

Leave a comment